Police & Fire Commission


Established in 1952 and created pursuant to Chapter 2.28 of the Whitewater Municipal Code as well as Wisconsin State Statute 62.13. 

Membership consists of five citizen members, appointed by the Common Council. Terms are for a five year period.

Scope of a Commission's Authority

The statutory powers, duties and responsibilities of a police and fire commission are significant. A commission has authority to: 

  • Appoint, suspend or remove the Chief of Police of the Police Department and the Chief of the Fire Department. (Section 62.13(3), Stats.) 
  • Approve all appointments made by the Police Chief and Fire Chief, including the promotion of subordinates. (Section 62.13(4)(a), Stats.) 
  • Approve competitive examinations used to judge suitability for appointment of subordinates. (Section 62.13(4)(d), Stats.) 
  • Approve each list of individuals determined to be eligible for appointment. (Section 62.13 (4)(a), Stats.) 
  • Suspend the Chief of a department or subordinates pending the filing and hearing of charges against them. (Section 62.13(3) and (5)(a), Stats.)
  • Initiate charges against the Chief of a Department or any subordinate. (Section 62.13(5)(b), Stats.) 
  • Hear charges filed against the Chief of a Department or a subordinate, make findings and determinations, and impose penalties. (Sec. 62.13(5)(d) and (5)(e), Stats.) 
  • Hear appeals of disciplinary actions initiated by the Chief of a Department against any subordinate. (Section 62.13(5)(d), Stats.)


  • Scheduled quarterly: February - May - August - November

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Staff Support

City Representative- Police Chief
Daniel Meyer
Phone: 262-473-1371
Email Chief Meyer


Contact the committee by using the Board, Committee and Commission Contact Form

  • Citizen Member
    Jerry Grant
    Term expires: 2026
  • Citizen Member
    Tom Miller
    Term expires: 2028
  • Citizen Member
    Mwita Binagi
    Term expires: 2025
  • Citizen Member
    Beverly Stone
    Term expires: 2027
  • Citizen Member
    Marissa Aranda
    Term expires: 2024